top of page

The first white colonists in modern-day Salem Township were from Connecticut. Nathan Beach and his son, Josiah, were some of the many settlers who arrived in Salem. The village of Beach Haven is named in their honor. Salem Township is one of the eleven original townships of Luzerne County; it was formed in 1786. The municipality is named after Salem, Connecticut. Mills and farms were constructed throughout the township during its early years. Native American raids were also very common in and around Salem during the 18th century.

Salem Township is made up of residential, commercial, rural wooded and farming areas. We have state game lands that use to belong to the Salem Coal Co. The North Branch of the PA Canal ran through the twp until the Delaware Railroad replaced it. Now the railroad is owned by North Shore Railroad.  We have several large industries including Crispin Valve whose valves are used around the world. One of their customers is Walt Disney Co. We have Design Group which is the largest producer of ribbons and bows in the world. Caithness Moxie Freedom Natural Gas Power Plant is located here. Our biggest landmark is Susquehanna Nuclear Power Plant. They also have data centers and a crypto mine next to them. They are the only ones in the world powered by nuclear energy.  We also have farming, other manufacturing and small businesses, convenience stores, several chruches and restaurants in our township. The Berwick Area Middle School along with Salem Elementary schools are also located in the township.


The Salem Township Police Department is located in Salem Township which is in the southern part of Luzerne County and bordering Columbia County in Pennsylvania. The Susquehann River establishes our eastern and southern border. The township is 29.99 square miles. 

     The police department was established in 1958 with the appointment of Mr. Thomas Denn as a part-time officer working from his home. The department has since grown to a full time police department. Our department is now made up of twelve officers including a Chief of Police, a Sergeant, and a Detective.  We have a Commercial Vehicle Inspection Unit,  Drone Unit and a School Resource Officer covering the Berwick Area Middle School and Salem Elementary. We currently patrol our 29.99 square mile coverage area with seven cruisers.  



bottom of page